Wednesday, 21 September 2011

This is Elektro Diskow!

Released on October 17th on EMI Gold and with an exclusive tie in with Mixmag, Elektro Diskow is a 2 CD comp which takes the listener on a musical journey through the darker recesses of the 80s. Elektro Diskow celebrates the heroes of a movement whose innovations continue to inspire music makers today.

At the end of the 70s a musical landscape emerged that would inform and influence music for the next 10 years and beyond. A new digital underground based on the electronics of Moroder and Kraftwerk created its own subterranean club scene on both sides of the Atlantic. 

In the US, New York led the way with club playlists taking in the latest European 12”s alongside the freshest post and mutant disco. In Chicago, Ron Hardy and Frankie Knuckles blazed a trail forging what would eventually become House. Running parallel with Chi-Town was the Detroit scene which eventually gave birth to Techno. Motor City clubbers were to dub these Eurodisco sounds ‘Progressive’.

Meanwhile, back in Europe, London’s Blitz club became the breeding ground for a generation of electropop and New Wave stars that cut their clubbing teeth listening to and then creating these new dance sounds. In Italy, disco evolved into Italodisco, Belgium developed its own weird and wonderful musical subset based around the Ghent and Antwerp scenes and on a island in the Mediterranean, a DJ called Alfredo developed an all-inclusive style that would include early 80s synthpop mixed with early House, to create a new genre - Balearic

01. Telex - Moskow Diskow (French Extended Version) **
02. Roxy Music - Angel Eyes (Extended Remix)
03. The Normal - Warm Leatherette
04. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Messages (10” Single Version)
05. Our Daughter’s Wedding - Lawn Chairs
06. Silicon Teens - State Of Shock (Part 2)
07. Rheingold - Dreiklangsdimensionen
08. Telex - Réalité
09. B.E.F - Groove Thang
10. The League Unlimited Orchestra - Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Instrumental) (Remix)
11. Heaven 17 - Play (7” Version) *
12. Devo - Out Of Sync
13. Fad Gadget - King Of The Flies
14. Talk Talk - Talk Talk (Extended Mix)
15. Snowy Red - Euroshima (Wardance) **
01. Yazoo - Situation (Original US Dub)
02. The Assembly - Stop Start
03. Fad Gadget - Collapsing New People (Berlin Mix)
04. Duet Emmo - Heart Of Hearts (Or So It Seems)
05. Japan - Visions Of China
06. Laid Back - White Horse (U.S. Edit)
07. The Human League - (Keep Feeling) Fascination (Improvisation)
08. Vicious Pink Phenomena - Cccan’t You See
09. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Tesla Girls (Extended Mix)
10. Nacht Und Nebel - Beats Of Love
11. Arto Lindsay - Let’s Be Adult **
12. Savage Progress - Heart Begin To Beat (Extended Mad Mix) *
13. Pet Shop Boys - In The Night (Extended)
14. Nitzer Ebb - Join In The Chant (Lies! Instrumental)

* First time on CD
** First digital release

No comments:

Post a Comment